No Thing Ordinary.. the poem/story that inspired my blog

No Thing Ordinary
We speed across the quiet lake
this September day, you and your brother
little- boy-blondies, your mom, dad and me
Most campers have gone home
down from the mountains, but there are others
like the eagle overhead and the fish
who dives deeper to escape the boat’s noise
Pines keep silent watch and the winds whisper
while I laugh and yell, “ Yahoo!” from the speed of it
the joy of it, the love I feel,“ Yahoo!”
The bubbling wake makes an ocean behind us
You echo me, “Yahoo!” and I laugh some more
alive and grateful for the moment
You say, “Grandma, why is it so easy for you to laugh?”
in that four -year- old thoughtful way
uniquely yours…and I stop to consider
get quiet again and say, ”Wow, that’s a good question!”
“Because I’m happy, I guess!”
But that doesn’t really answer the question
and so I’m thinking—
Knowing I don’t always laugh
Knowing each moment is special
Believing God has everything to do with it
And that no question, time, place or circumstance
no person
no thing —is ordinary Jean E.Taddonio

About geniecan

Born and raised in " America's finest City" received BS degree in nursing years ago... main career besides wife and motherhood ( and now a grandma)was as a hospice RN for 18 years...Take great joy in finding the good in all things and believing that " No Thing is Ordinary" the title of my blog. I am working on a children's picture book story named R-Qu.. a rock falls of his mountain. Writing poetry is one of my happiest things to do. Yoga, water aerobics,, gym exercise and walking our wheaton terrior, Finley, with my husband Jim are favorite things...oh yes...singing in the choir at Church and recognizing God as #1... are most important... I also have a home based business with magnetic and far intra red health care products..peace to all who read this, Love, Jeane
This entry was posted in inspirational, musings, poetry, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

