Simplicity

n015She lies still
in her nursing home bed
blind and silent

I’m thinking
her days are numbered
but then so are mine

My need for constant doing
fails to distract her
She has no need for it

“No thank you dear”
“Are you comfortable?” I say
“How about a bath
a ride outside perhaps
the TV, radio?”

I’ve not learned to be
content with stillness
“No thank you dear
I’m quite fine”

I want to unwrap myself
inside her wisdom
pour my heart out
My life has become
burdensome

I share with her
about my morning
rising early
to climb the mountain
near my house

praying before sunrise
while my family slept
seeking answers
afraid for my future

I felt God nudge me
in morning’s first light
heard him whisper
in the shadows

He is here again
in this frail one
with the peaceful face
the soft courage

Her vision without sight
is clearer than mine
She answers me
“Do what you are doing
and you’ll be great”

Now my day begins
She is my sunrise

Years ago I saw a tree
from a fast moving train
It stood solo and serene
on a golden winter’s hill

Like this woman
alone, strong and stunning

the way it is
when you keep it simple
content with stillness

Jean E Taddonio

About geniecan

Born and raised in " America's finest City" received BS degree in nursing years ago... main career besides wife and motherhood ( and now a grandma)was as a hospice RN for 18 years...Take great joy in finding the good in all things and believing that " No Thing is Ordinary" the title of my blog. I am working on a children's picture book story named R-Qu.. a rock falls of his mountain. Writing poetry is one of my happiest things to do. Yoga, water aerobics,, gym exercise and walking our wheaton terrior, Finley, with my husband Jim are favorite things...oh yes...singing in the choir at Church and recognizing God as #1... are most important... I also have a home based business with magnetic and far intra red health care products..peace to all who read this, Love, Jeane
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

